Return To Blog

Denver Dispensary Explains How to Shop For Pot When You Have Celiac Disease

August 8, 2018

Dispensaries in Denver are starting to offer an incredibly wide range of products to their customers. As soon as you step in and speak with a budtender, you’re presented with edibles, bud, vapes, concentrates, and even beverages. The list is ever-growing and ever-improving. However, if you suffer from Celiac disease, shopping for marijuana is harder than just simply picking a product and deciding whether or not you like it. Here are a few tips to help make the most out of your trip to the dispensary while significantly reducing your risk of exposure to gluten, wheat, and other irritants that could trigger a flare-up.

Talk to The Budtender

The best resource at any dispensary is the budtender behind the counter. They know their products like the back of their hand. Tell them about any food allergies you might have, the specific ingredients you need to avoid (wheat, gluten, rye, etc.), and ask for their help in finding the best products for your needs. Selecting a cannabis product will be more challenging if you have more than one food sensitivity or autoimmune trigger, but it can be done and you can still enjoy the many medically proven benefits of marijuana.

Double Check The Ingredients List

If you’re exploring your options for edibles, take the time to read through each ingredients label, even if the budtender thinks it’s gluten free. Remember, you’re far more familiar with the terms and ingredients to watch for than they are. The industry is getting better at labeling and making note of products that are truly gluten free, but you can never be too cautious. As a general rule, most hard candies, gummies, and plain chocolate bars are typically safe, though they may be manufactured on shared equipment.

When In Doubt, Stick With Bud

If you’re truly worried about gluten, even in trace amounts from shared equipment, your best bet is to stick with bud. Since the bud available at your local dispensaries is just grown and dried, there’s minimal risk of gluten being introduced to the flower. Similarly, most concentrates, waxes, shatter, and pre-rolled joints should be safe.

Avoid Flavored Rolling Papers

Yes, flavored papers really do exist. While they do alter the flavor the smoke you inhale, there’s always a chance that the flavorings may have wheat or gluten ingredients. Plain papers are typically free of gluten and other contaminants. However, if you’ve had reactions to rolling papers in the past, you may want to stick with glass. You’ll get a superior smoking experience and reduce your impact on the environment as an added bonus.

Celiac disease doesn’t have to keep you from enjoying cannabis, smoking, or that relaxing high after a long day at work. It just means you need to be a bit more cautious and selective when searching for the right products. At Altitude Dispensary, we want to help. Our budtenders will go through all of your options with you so you can feel confident in the products you choose. Stop by one of our three locations today.