How to Become a Medical Cannabis Patient in Colorado
September 14, 2016
If you are a patient and you have a valid registry card to legally purchase cannabis, you can do so only for medicinal purposes. A physician may legally aid you in doing so. If you are a patient and you have been charged with illegally possessing more of the medicinal cannabis than you are allowed by law, it is important to show that you needed the additional medicine for your condition, but a physician, in this case, would also have to confirm your legal defense.
The Rules By Colorado law, you and your caregiver can possess six cannabis plants between each other. Three of these plants can bear usable cannabis, and in addition, you can possess two ounces of cannabis that you can use. Anyone that is in violation of these limits will be kept out of the registry for twelve months. Don’t use your medical cannabis if you plan to drive, neither should you smoke in a public place nor show your stash to anyone. Violation of these rules will only revoke your registry card for one year.
Medical Conditions To become a medical cannabis patient in the state of Colorado, you have to suffer from specific medical conditions, which include:
You would also be eligible, if you show symptoms of a debilitating or chronic disease such as:
Severe weight loss
Constant muscle spasms
More importantly, your physician must also believe that the cannabis will provide adequate relief of these symptoms. Colorado law allows you to purchase medical cannabis from the various dispensaries in the local area. However, you will need your registry card to make the purchase.
Primary Caregiver In the state of Colorado, a primary caregiver is considered someone who is 18 years or older. This person must be responsible enough to be able to manage the well-being of the medical cannabis patient. The caregiver can also be the distributor of the cannabis. In this case, it would be the local dispensary. The law allows the caregiver to also grow the cannabis. The law does not restrict how many patients the primary caregiver can serve. The name and address of your caregiver will appear on the registry card.
The Minor A minor with parental consent may be allowed to become a medical marijuana patient. However, the minor also has to show the symptoms and condition that are allowed by law.
The Application Process How do you apply for a registry ID card? You have to apply to the Colorado Department of Public Health. A form is provided by the department. After completing the form, then it has to be notarized. The physician is also expected to complete some of the information on the form and sign it as well.
The Form Along with the form, you would also send a copy of a government issued picture ID and money order in the amount of $90. For minors, parents have to complete the form and the doctor has to complete a separate form. Each year, the registry card has to be renewed for another $90 along with the same documentation, whether there have been changes or not.
If you want to know more about how to become a medical cannabis patient and how to find the right caregiver, contact Altitude Dispensary at 720-708-5428. You can also visit their official website to find out more at Altitude Dispensary.